Transferring Calls

After receiving a call, a call may be transferred via two methods. Either as a screened or un-screened transfer. A screened transfer is a transferred call in which the caller is announced to the recipient by the person transferring the call. An un-screened transfer is a call that is sent to a recipient without announcing the caller.

To perform a screened transfer:

1. After receiving a call, press the TRANSFER key and either dial the extension of the recipient, press the DSS/BLF button assigned to the them. The caller is immediately placed on HOLD.
2. When the recipient answers, announce to them who is calling.
3. If they wish to accept the call, simply hang up, and they will have the caller.
4. If they refuse the caller, press the flashing green button on your telephone, and advise the caller the recipient is unavailable.

To perform an unscreened transfer:

1. After receiving a call, press the key and either dial the extension of the recipient, press the DSS/BLF button assigned to the them. The caller is immediately placed on HOLD.
2. Immediately hang up your telephone.
3. If the recipient does not answer, the caller will return to you after 30 seconds or ten rings as TRANSFER RECALL.
4. Lift the handset, or press the flashing green button on your telephone, and advise the caller the recipient is unavailable.

Note: The above condition will exist if the recipient's phone is not call forwarded, to another extension or voice mail.

The VTR button:

If your telephone system is equipped with voice mail, a VTR button may be assigned on each telephone. The button allows immediate transfer into a recipient’s voice mailbox, and the caller may leave a message therein.

To perform a voice mail transfer (VTR):

1. Receive the telephone as described previously.
2. Press the VTR button, and either dial the extension number of the recipient or press the DSS/BLF button assigned to them. The caller will be immediately placed in the recipient’s mailbox.
3. Hang up your telephone.

2